Westyn for the Triple Crown Win


Up and coming superstar, Westyn Hughes, proved he can play with the big boys this past weekend at the Cowboys Professional Rodeo Association Finals in Angleton, TX. He came into these finals leading the world standings, with none other than 8X World Champion Fred Whitfield in second place. Hughes placed in all three rounds and won the average.

Hughes was the youngest to ever qualify for the CPRA finals in the tie down roping and the youngest to ever win the title. He now has won that title three times, earning him the triple crown.

Hughes says he has learned from being around these champions he has looked up to and come to know and it is an honor to compete against them. He accredited his CPRA experience to his ability to rope smart in high pressure situations.

The CPRA has been like professional rodeo for me. I haul all year and it has made me grow as a roper. Up until now, these are the only rodeos I could go to where I get the opportunity to rope against the pro guys.

Hughes also won RFD-TV’s The American Semi Finals Qualifier in Stephenville, TX. This is his third qualification to the prestigious event. You could say that three is Hughes’s lucky number. Now at the age of 18, Hughes knows more of what to expect come time for the Semi Finals and is looking for that qualification to Cowboy’s Stadium.

Westyn Hughes is a phenomenon in the sport, but this didn’t happen by luck. Hughes said his advice he always gives when talking to young kids beginning their careers is,

The little things make the biggest difference. Your ability to win comes by being willing to put the time and effort into it that others won’t.

This method has proven to be successful for Hughes and he has big goals for 2016. He is mounted on some of the best horses in the sport¬† that include Oz, 2008 AQHA Tie Down Roping Horse of the year and formerly rode and owned by NFR Qualifier and Million Dollar PRCA earner Justin Maass, along with two other solid horses, McLovin’ and Chicka. Westyn Hughes will be a name you will be hearing for a long time to come and he is gunning for the 2016 PRCA Rookie title and his first NFR Qualification. Big things are headed this young man’s way and it will be an exciting show to watch.

The Choice of World Champions

If you are familiar with Rattler Ropes, you know  the GT4.

Known for its four strands, durability, and long lasting life and body, the GT4 has been used to win more gold buckles than any other rope on the market.

GT4 kollin
Kollin VonAhn using GT4

Big names such as Rich Skelton, Walt Woodard, Randon Adams, Kollin VonAhn, Jade Corkill, and Travis Graves are among some of the world champions who chose to use the GT4.

While the GT4 is predominately used as a heel rope, it’s not uncommon to see a header using the light blue. Up and comer Clay Smith uses the GT4 on the head side and just qualified for his first NFR. There is also the GT4 Lite option.

The GT4 is Rattler’s top selling team rope and has yields proven results with lots of body and consistency. It’ll make you ask what second place even feels like?

Finished with the Wrap…On to the Hooey

Rattler wordpress
Marty Yates at ’14 NFR

2015’s season has come to a close in the tie down roping and today, October 1, is the dawn of the 2016 season. Exciting is one of the many adjectives that could describe this year’s season. The top 5 have been switching spots all year and a couple made an amazing comeback to sneak in the Top 15.

We are proud to announce that Team Rattler at the National Finals Rodeo will consist of Marty Yates, Cade Swor, Timber Moore, and Caleb Smidt. We’re looking for big things to happen under the bright lights of Vegas and wish our guys the best of luck!

2o15 National Finals Rodeo Tie Down Roping Qualifiers

1 Tuf Cooper Decatur TX $130,803.12
2 Timber Moore Aubrey TX $112,798.56
3 Marty Yates Stephenville TX $99,280.84
4 Hunter Herrin Apache OK $93,812.52
5 Trevor Brazile Decatur TX $91,977.81
6 Caleb Smidt bellville TX $87,450.24
7 Ryan Jarrett Comanche OK $85,966.78
8 Matt Shiozawa Chubbuck ID $85,005.03
9 Marcos Costa Childress TX $84,342.52
10 Monty Lewis Hereford TX $82,903.28
11 Cory Solomon Prairie View TX $82,482.58
12 Cade Swor Winnie TX $77,872.70
13 Sterling Smith Stephenville TX $72,296.55
14 Tyson Durfey Savannah MO $72,059.53
15 Shane Hanchey Sulphur LA $70,456.62